In this FAQ page, I’ll answer all the questions I get from parents about homeschooling in Oklahoma. Although I homeschool my own kids in Texas, I have family who have homeschooled for more than 20 years in Oklahoma.
Is Oklahoma a homeschool state?
Yes, Oklahoma is a homeschool state. In fact, they actually include the right to homeschool in their state constitution.
Is Oklahoma a homeschool friendly state?
Yes, Oklahoma is one of the friendliest state for homeschoolers because there are no regulations or requirements and yet the state offers some funding for homeschoolers in the form of tax credits.
That being said, by accepting funding from the government, homeschoolers may subject themselves to more strict supervision or requirements.

How does homeschooling work in Oklahoma?
Homeschooling in Oklahoma works by allowing parents the ability to completely customize their child’s education.
Since there are no requirements or regulations, parents are able to teach their children at home without any oversight.
How do I withdraw my child from school in Oklahoma?
Withdrawing your child from school in Oklahoma is as simple as sending a letter to your child’s school notifying them of your intent to withdraw. See my withdrawal letter example here and download a customizable template.
What is a letter of intent for homeschooling in Oklahoma?
A letter of intent for homeschooling is a required piece of documentation in many states that informs the local school district that you intend to homeschool your child; however, you are not required to submit a letter of intent for homeschooling in Oklahoma.
Do you have to report homeschooling in Oklahoma?
No, you do not have to report homeschooling in Oklahoma.
What is the homeschooling law in Oklahoma?
There is no regulatory homeschooling law in Oklahoma. Parents are able to homeschool without informing any school or governing body of their intention to do so.
Does Oklahoma require standardized testing for homeschoolers?
No, Oklahoma does not require standardized testing for homeschoolers.
Can you Unschool in Oklahoma?
Yes, you can legally unschool in Oklahoma.
What do you have to do to homeschool your child in Oklahoma?
You do not have to do anything special to begin homeschooling your child in Oklahoma. There are no regulations about homeschooling in Oklahoma. Here is a step-by-step guide to start homeschooling.
How do homeschoolers get a diploma in Oklahoma?
Parents may issue their own children a diploma in the state of Oklahoma.
I recommend using Canva, they have lots of templates and you can customize it to your particular homeschool program.
What are the graduation requirements for homeschoolers in Oklahoma?
There are no graduation requirements for homeschoolers in Oklahoma. High schoolers in public schools in Oklahoma are required to complete 23 credits in order to graduate.
Can homeschool kids play school sports in Oklahoma?
No, homeschool kids are not allowed to play school sports in Oklahoma according to the OSSAA.
Is there a tax break for homeschooling in Oklahoma?
Yes, Oklahoma has just started offering a tax break for homeschools in Oklahoma. Parents can apply as soon as December 1, 2023 and acceptance will depend on several factors including income.
What is the tax credit for homeschooling in Oklahoma?
The tax credit for homeschooling Oklahoma is known as the parental choice tax credit.
Starting from December 1, 2023, the tax credit ranges from $5,000 to $7,500 per student, with higher funds allocated to students from families with greater financial need and families earning less than $150,000 given priority. See more info about the tax credit here.
What is the parental choice tax credit in Oklahoma?
The Oklahoma Parental Choice Tax Credit is a provision allowing families to receive a refundable tax credit for eligible learning expenses when enrolling their children in accredited private schools or participating in homeschooling.




